My Own Conflict

When cruelty strikes a flailing soul
and love no longer satisfies its growl.
When all that’s left but patience,
how can one survive an unexplained absence?

Tears again starts welling up,
as one’s soul is clearly drying out.
A faith once thought to be adamant
now has become something less than dormant.

I waited to the time to strike
as day passes with painful smites.
I drowned myself with memories,
to wash away reality’s discrepancies.

My own shadow itself has left me,
in shattered pieces of the world’s irony.
How can love be more than shallow?
How could it lead me to an unexpected hallow.
MR @ 2010

Leave a Reply

