Spread thy wings and fly on your own,
That’s what, to me, they used to say.
When I geared up and stood alone,
They said “Come back, don’t go” – I stayed.

Over the years I stayed behind,
As dead leaves eddy on their own.
As I looked up on dark blue skies,
Oh, why do I feel so alone?

Facing the mirror, there I stood,
Who I see – an imitation.
Finally, I have understood,
This ain’t where I’d find elation.

So different is the road from here;
it is all guesswork, hit and miss.
Left a haven of love and care,
To favor the stranger abyss.

 

MR @ 2016

Leave a Reply

