The Earth wasn’t round;
Face-front to the ground.
Frosted on summer breeze,
Defunct with memories.

Shattered to pieces,
Silence couldn’t equate peace,
I can’t see me in the mirror;
Coz you were nowhere near.

I’ve been there before,
Drunk, all over the floor.
Reckless and vulnerable,
God! I was so unstable.

Then you came around
Wandering in and about.
You looked into these eyes –
Like you found your prize.

You broke into my soul
Tried to break down my wall.
I almost gave in
Yet fear crept back in.

Inside me is that fright,
Heartbreaks, I need to fight.
I’d be ready soon enough
Easy baby, let’s not rush.

MR @ 2016

 

Leave a Reply

