“I’m just a girl
standing in front of a boy”

Oh wait a minute
I made a mistake.
I’m barking at the
wrong tree when
that line, I said.
“What we have here,
is a failure to communicate”

With that said, Apologies!
The quote I need to correct.
For this to hold meaning,
Here goes nothing.

“You make me want
to be a better man”

Yes, clearly I’m woman
But I meant every line.
“Swoon. I’ll catch you”
That much is true.
“I have crossed oceans
of time to find you”.

If I live through eternity
without you that’s
a time too long
“I would rather share one
lifetime with you than
face all the ages
of this world alone.”

I have fallen in love
the first time we met.
“I was looking up…it was
the nearest thing to heaven
you were there!”

Your eyes had shown me
it’s okay to be scared.
“I’ve fallen in love.
I’m an ordinary woman.
I didn’t think such violent
things could happen
to ordinary people”.

These words are borrowed
Originality is not my feat.
But these lines aren’t hollow,
my sincerity’s concrete.
My love for you is true,
this, too, is a famous quote.
I love you like in those movies too
Unscripted and still devout.

MR@2016

A poem created with movies as my inspiration. I’ve always liked movie quotes and such, so I created a poem with a mix of me and a mix of other characters from a movie. Find references below:

“I’m just a girl standing in front of a boy” – Anna Scott of Notting Hill

“What we’ve got here is failure to communicate” – Strother Martin of Cool Hand Luke

“You make me want to be a better man” – Melvin Udall of As Good As It Gets

“Swoon. I’ll catch you” – Almasy of The English Patient

“I have crossed oceans of time to find you”. – Dracula of Dracula

“I would rather share one lifetime with you than face all the ages of this world alone.” – Arwen of The Lord of The Rings

“I was looking up…it was the nearest thing to heaven you were there!” –Terry of An Affair to Remember

“I’ve fallen in love. I’m an ordinary woman. I didn’t think such violent things could happen to ordinary people”. – Laura of Brief Encounter

Leave a Reply

