If Only.

You walk through a path
that’s cold as ice –
your feet are sore
bereaved in a frostbite.
Your hands are warm
like they’re on fire
slowly you’ve melted
into desolation.
You walk on through
notwithstanding your aching
like every piece of you
has been torn apart – broken.
Tormented with a past
you can’t escape,
entangled in a decision
you wouldn’t want to make.
If only I could keep you
from your insomnolence
and the constant thriving
of debris in your heart.
I would but I can’t
and believe me I tried.
Won’t you let me in,
let me be by your side.

MR@2016

Leave a Reply

