Last Time.

You wished for a hug
I don’t know  why.
You never even liked me,
not even for a while.
I backed away
and shook your hand,
that’s the most I could give –
for I cannot lie with
what I feel inside.
To all the belittling,
I’d finally say farewell,
You’ve made me feel small
but I still wish you well.
No more angst,
no more anxiety,
I’m glad you’ve left,
before I, myself, went away.
10 More days –
‘til I find my peace
’til I find the silence
that I’ve so long missed.
The best of gifts
that I got this month
is that you’re nowhere near me
the day I head out.

MR

Leave a Reply

