Give and Take.

We met in a time where
both our hearts were broken.
In a time where we wanted
nothing more than mending.
A point in life where
colors had started to fade,
and love was but
a twisted charade.

Yet with you by my side,
I’ve felt changes from within.
Like I’m willing to try
give love a chance again.
Still, I told you not to fall in love
if your hearts’ not mended enough.
You agreed with resolute
that you and I will not get involved.

A few weeks later,
you started a chase.
Like you’ve already gotten over
a love you said was great.
I was confused but you seemed so brave,
brave enough to stand up to all that you said.
I gave in with hesitation hoping it’s real,
when you said you loved me – it felt surreal.

Everything was fine,
we were in love.
But one day it all changed
when she started to call you up.
You said you weren’t going to take it,
but when you went home, you did.
The next day I asked if we’re okay,
but the fire in your eyes were dead.

You said you’ve moved on,
it felt true – I assumed.
But one look in your eyes,
your smile couldn’t disguise
the feelings that you have for her
in your heart still lingered.
I had to say good-bye before it’s too late,
I don’t want to have keep a heart
which to another you want to give.

MR@2017

Leave a Reply

